Commercial Content | 18+ | T&C's Apply
Commercial Content | 18+ | T&C's Apply

Sky Bet Offer 10 Places For The Open

Sky Bet have announced that they will be paying 10 PLACES for all each-way bets on this week’s Open Championship at Royal Birkdale.

Many bookmakers are offering just 6 places for each-way bets on The Open – although Paddy Power, Betfair and Coral all offer 8.

It is worth noting that these extended place terms come at a slight cost, with all four offering 1/5th odds for the place, rather than 1/4.

Nevertheless, it is worth considering some players at big prices who you might not necessarily think will lift the Claret Jug, but who could perform well on the unique links challenge that The Open presents.

Last year at Royal Troon, eventual winner Henrik Stenson and Phil Mickelson ran away from the field, but JB Holmes finished in third place and so it is surprising that Sky Bet are offering best odds of 150/1 on the big-hitting American.

That gives you place odds of 30/1 on JB finishing in the top 10 at Birkdale this week!

Holmes – who also finished T4 at the Masters last year – was 12th at the US Open at Erin Hills last month, and 9th on his last outing at the Greenbrier Classic this month.

Steve Stricker finished one shot behind Holmes at last year’s Open and will arrive in England on the back of a T5 finish at last week’s John Deere Classic on the PGA Tour – with weekend rounds of 65 & 64 setting him up nicely for another Open challenge.

One of the best players never to win a golf major, Stricker has nonetheless finished in the top eight at majors 12 times and he is 150/1 with Coral and their eight places.

Finally, at shorter odds of 50/1 with Sky Bet – and thus 10/1 for a top 10 finish – you might consider Marc Leishman who finished T5 at the Open in 2014 and T2 in 2015.

The Australian won the Arnold Palmer Invitational in March and finished in T5 at his last event, the Quicken Loans National, earlier this month – with two rounds of 66.

While none of the aforementioned players have won a major to date, don’t forget that all of the last seven majors were won by first-time major winners.